Centennial Office Building 658 Cedar Street, 1st Floor St. Paul, MN 55155

SENATE MEMBERS

Sen. Nick A. Frentz, Chair Sen. Jeff R. Howe, Vice Chair

Sen. Carla J. Nelson Sen. Sandra L. Pappas Sen. Jordan Rasmusson Sen. Judy Seeberger Sen. Bonnie S. Westlin

HOUSE MEMBERS

Rep. Leon Lillie, Secretary Rep. Ethan Cha Rep. Josiah Hill Rep. Danny Nadeau Rep. Tim O'Driscoll Rep. Terry Stier Rep. Dan Wolgamott

COMMISSION STAFF

Susan Lenczewski, Executive Director Aleena Wilson, Analyst Lisa Diesslin, Commission Assistant Phone: 651-296-2750 TDD: 651-296-9896 Email: lcpr@lcpr.mn.gov Website: www.lcpr.mn.gov

March 18, 2025

Room 1200, Minnesota Senate Building

MINUTES

Call to order:

Senator Frentz called the meeting to order at 5:15 p.m.

Commission Members Present:

Senators Frentz, Howe, Nelson, Pappas, Rasmusson, Seeberger, and Westlin Representatives Cha, Hill, Lillie, Nadeau, O'Driscoll, and Stier

Commission Member Absent:

Representative Wolgamott

Agenda Items

Approval of meeting minutes

Rep. Nadeau moved approval of the March 11, 2025, meeting minutes. MOTION PREVAILED.

Presentation by the State Board of Investment (SBI)

Jill Schurtz, Executive Director and Chief Investment Officer, provided a presentation "SBI Overview."

Update from the Commission Actuary, including an overview of the recently published 2022-2023 Public Retirement Plan Portability Assumptions Study

Mark Schulte, President and Consulting Actuary, and Emily Knutson, Consulting Actuary, VIA Actuarial Solutions provided a presentation "VIA 2025 LCPR Actuarial Update" and also reviewed the "2022-2023 Public Retirement Plan Portability Assumptions Study."

Mandatory annual reporting to the Commission (continued from March 11, 2025)

Aleena Wilson, Analyst, Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement (LCPR) continued reviewing the March 11, 2025, <u>staff memo</u> on mandatory reporting.

LCPR Meeting Minutes

Chris Dale, MN State, Interim Associate Vice Chancellor for Labor Relations, testified in response to a question from Representative O'Driscoll that 224 applications were submitted under the new legislation, about 90% of those they were able to produce evidence that they were offered an election, and approximately 13 have been processed.

SF1341 (Pappas); HF1828 (Cha): Recommendations of the State Auditor's Fire Relief Association Working Group

Rep. Cha and Sen. Pappas presented and testified in support of their bill.

State Auditor Julie Blaha, Dan Johnson, Fire Chief, Mendota Heights Fire Department, Mikal Knotek, Secretary, St. Michael Fire Relief Association, and Rose Hennessy-Allen, Pension Director, Office of the State Auditor, provided a presentation "State Auditor's Fire Relief Association Working Group."

Sen. Pappas moved SF1341/HF1828 be recommended to pass and be incorporated into the 2025 omnibus pension bill. **The motion prevailed**.

HF2395 (Huot): Firefighter relief associations; Increasing the maximum lump-sum service pension amount from \$15,000 to \$20,000 for each year of service credited.

Representative Huot presented and testified in support of his bill.

Matt Nelson, Fire Chief, Apple Valley Fire Department, testified in support of HF2395.

Rep. Stier moved HF2395 be recommended to pass and be incorporated into the 2025 omnibus pension bill. **The motion prevailed**.

HF1889 (O'Driscoll): Minnesota State Retirement System administrative bill.

Representative O'Driscoll presented and testified in support of his bill.

Jenkins Vangehn, Agency Policy Specialist-Legislative Liaison, MSRS, testified in support of the bill.

Rep. O'Driscoll moved HF1889 be recommended to pass and be incorporated into the 2025 omnibus pension bill. **The motion prevailed**.

HF2237 (O'Driscoll): MSRS; Increasing the formula multiplier for the MSRS General Plan; increasing the postretirement adjustment for the General, Legislators, and Unclassified Plans.

Representative O'Driscoll presented and testified in support of his bill.

Erin Leonard, Executive Director, MSRS, testified in support of HF2237and provided a presentation "HF2237 MSRS Benefit Enhancement Bill."

Tanner Fritsinger, Political Affairs Coordinator, Minnesota Association of Professional Employees (MAPE), testified in support of HF2237.

LCPR Meeting Minutes

Doug Anderson, Executive Director, Public Employees Retirement Association (PERA), commented that each plan is unique and there are different priorities for each plan.

Submitted testimony on HF2237:

AFSCME Council 5 Letter Supporting HF2237

HF2237 was laid over.

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 7:10 p.m.