Centennial Office Building 658 Cedar Street, 1st Floor St. Paul, MN 55155

SENATE MEMBERS

Sen. Nick A. Frentz, Chair Sen. Jeff R. Howe, Secretary Sen. Carla J. Nelson

Sen. Sandra L. Pappas Sen. Jordan Rasmusson Sen. Judy Seeberger Sen. Bonnie S. Westlin

HOUSE MEMBERS

Rep. Leon Lillie, Vice Chair Rep. Ethan Cha

Rep. Josiah Hill Rep. Danny Nadeau Rep. Tim O'Driscoll Rep. Terry Stier

Rep. Dan Wolgamott

COMMISSION STAFF

Susan Lenczewski, Executive Director Aleena Wilson, Analyst Lisa Diesslin, Commission Assistant Phone: 651-296-2750 TDD: 651-296-9896 Email: lcpr@lcpr.mn.gov Website: www.lcpr.mn.gov

Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement

March 11, 2025, Meeting

Room 123, State Capitol Building

MINUTES

Call to order:

Senator Frentz called the meeting to order at 5:05 p.m.

Commission Members Present:

Senators Frentz, Howe, Nelson, Pappas, Rasmusson, Seeberger, and Westlin Representatives Cha, Hill, Lillie, Nadeau, O'Driscoll, and Stier

Commission Member Absent:

Representative Wolgamott

Agenda Items

Introduction of Commission members

Senator Frentz asked members to introduce themselves.

Election of 2025- 2026 Commission officers

- Sen. Pappas moved Sen. Frentz as Chair. MOTION PREVAILED.
- Rep. O'Driscoll moved Rep. Lillie as Vice Chair. MOTION PREVAILED.
- Sen. Rasmusson moved Sen. Howe as Secretary. MOTION PREVAILED.

Approval of meeting minutes

> Sen. Seeberger moved approval of the April 29, 2024, meeting minutes. MOTION PREVAILED.

Introduction of Commission staff

Chair Frentz asked staff to introduce themselves.

Appointment of Commission actuary

Susan Lenczewski, Executive Director, LCPR, reviewed the staff memo.

➤ Sen. Rasmusson moved to appoint VIA Actuarial Services as commission actuary, effective immediately, to begin work as soon as an engagement agreement can be signed by the chair and VIA. **MOTION PREVAILED**.

Presentations by the executive directors of the Minnesota State Retirement System (MSRS), Public Employees Retirement Association (PERA), Teachers Retirement Association (TRA), and St. Paul Teachers Retirement Fund Association (SPTRFA)

Erin Leonard, Executive Director, MSRS, gave a presentation titled "Plan Funding Updates & 2025 Legislative Agenda."

Doug Anderson, Executive Director, PERA, and Amy Strenge, Policy Coordinator, PERA, gave a presentation titled "PERA Update for LCPR."

Tim Maurer, Executive Director, TRA, and Holly Dayton, Legislative Liaison, TRA, gave a presentation titled "Teachers Retirement Association Update to the LCPR."

Phill Tencick, Executive Director and CIO, SPTRFA, gave a presentation titled "2025 Plan Overview."

Mandatory reporting to the Commission

Aleena Wilson, Analyst, LCPR, reviewed the staff memo.

Report on the PERA Statewide Volunteer Firefighter Incentive Program
Doug Anderson, Executive Director, PERA, reviewed the report on the program.

The following reports under this agenda item were held over to the next meeting:

- Report on pension fund correction of operational errors
- Report on IRAP to TRA transfers

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 6:30 p.m.