Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement

Chair: Senator Sandra L. Pappas Tuesday, March 5, 2013 - 7:00 p.m. Room 112 Capitol

AGENDA

- 1. Approval of the minutes.
- 2. Review of the July 1, 2012, actuarial valuation reports.
 - Presenters: William V. Hogan, FSA, Milliman, Commission reviewing actuary Tim Herman, FSA, Milliman, Commission reviewing actuary
- 3. S.F. 272 (Pappas); H.F. 403 (Nelson): State Patrol; Benefit modifications and contribution increases. S.F. 447 (Pappas); H.F. 618 (Nelson): PERA-P&F, PERA-Correctional; Benefit modifications and contribution increases.
 - Testifiers: Keith Carlson, Executive Director, Minnesota Inter-County Association
 Dennis Flaherty, Executive Director, MN Police & Peace Officers Association
 Tom Thornberg, President, Minnesota Professional Fire Fighters
 Lt. John Delmonico, President, Police Officers Federation of Minneapolis
 Representative from the League of Minnesota Cities
- 4. S.F. 275 (Pappas); H.F. 341 (Nelson): PERA; Repealing the Social Security leveling option.
- 5. S.F. 529 (Pappas); H.F. 650 (Nelson): TRA; Phase-in of actuarial equivalent early retirement reduction factors 2015-2019.
- 6. S.F. 935 (Pappas); H.F. 857 (Atkins): Retirement funding; Imposing a homeowners and auto insurance policy surcharge to fund public safety employee retirement plan costs.
 - Testifiers: Brian Rice, MN Prof. Fire Fighters, Police Officers Federation of Minneapolis, MN State Fire Chiefs Association

Dennis Flaherty, Executive Director, MN Police & Peace Officers Association

George Esbensen, Eden Prairie Fire Chief

Bruce Jensen, Minneapolis police officer, PERA board member

Aaron Cocking, Dir. Govt. Affairs, MN Assoc. Farm Mutual Ins. Companies

George Winiecki

Keith Carlson, Executive Director, Minnesota Inter-County Association

- 7. S.F. 983 (Cohen); H.F. 953 (Hilstrom): Judges Retirement Plan; Financial sustainability plan provisions and contribution revisions.
 - Testifiers: Nancy Haas, Messerli & Kramer Judge Robert Birnbaum
- 8. Other items as designated by the Commission chair.