What is MN Secure Choice Retirement?

A way for private employees
who do not have access to
an employer-sponsored
retirement plan to save for
retirement

State-facilitated retirement
program for private
employers established by
the Legislature in 2023
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Why is MN Secure Choice Retirement Important?

Many employees in Minnesota lack access to a retirement savings plan at work. Especially those working for the smallest

employers.

2.46 Million Private Sector Employees Statewide

Minnesota Seniors Rely

772,000 : ) :
Heavily on Social Security

31%

GAP

17%

1,687,000.00

Share of Elderly Households in the State Relying on Social
Security for at Least 90% of Their Income (2018-2019)

- Coverage Access Gap m Access to Coverage at work Source: ESI Analysis of Current Population Survey Date

Workplace Access to Retirement Savings Among Private Sector Works
(2020)

Source: ESI Analysis of Census Bureau and BLS Data
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Employers with five or more
employees who do not offer a
retirement plan are required to

enroll.

Proposing 5% contribution rate
with annual automatic
escalation of 1% until it reaches
8%.

Employees will be able to stop
or change contributions at any
time.

Employer contributions are not
permitted.

Employers will be required to
deduct contributions from
employees pay checks.

Employees will be able to
withdraw their funds prior to
retirement. The Program will

handle all withdrawals and
provide tax information.

Key Features

Employees will be able to opt
out.

The employees’ contributions

will be deposited into a Roth

IRA. A traditional IRA will also

be offered to contribute on a
pre-tax basis.
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Timeline of Program Implementation

RFP for Recordkeeper/Partnership Posted
Hire Permanent Director

Contract with Recordkeeper or Partnership and start Program implementation

Develop informational materials for employees and employers

Program up and running

Begin enrolling large employers and smaller employers who are interested to start
early

March 2025
June 2025

July 2025

October 2025

15t Quarter 2026

15t Quarter 2026




Phased Enrollment and Compliance Timeline

FIRST PHASE EXPECTED TO START THE 15T QUARTER OF 2026

Number of Phase in after Program Staris Number of Number of Employees in
Employees Employers in Phase Phase

100 and more First 6 months 1,821,000

50 to 99 7 months to 12 months 179,818

2510 49 3 months to 18 months 187,939
10 to 24 19 months to 24 months 223,243

5to9 25 months to 30 months 121,000
Total 2,533,000




Information Needed From Another State Agency

FEIN
Keep it

secure —
we will!

Employer Business Name

%

Physical Address
Mailing Address

Employer Contact Name

Sharing
datais RS

e Governmental transactions

the WO rI d ¢ 15 other states are receiving the

' o All reti |
Employer Contact Email Address retirement plans

Number of Employees
information from another state agency.

Employer Industry (NAICS code) we live in

Employer Status (if applicable)

Employer Contact Phone Number



Recommended Penalties for Non-compliance
Required under laws of MN 2023, chapter 187.10 sec.12

Why Impose Penalties? What Causes Penalties to be Imposed?

Increases Enrollment , :
Employer doesn’t enroll in program

Vendors and Partnerships are
more likely to respond to RFP

Employer fails to provide

Reduces the cost of the information to employees
Program




Proposed Penalties for Non-compliance

1 month prior to open enrollment

Notify employer of upcoming enroliment window.

Months 1-6

Employer is reminded about their open enroliment window.

Months 7 — 18

Written notices of non-compliance to employer.

Months 19 - 24

Contact employer and send certified letters explaining that penalty will be
imposed after the 24-month period.

» Penalty Imposed

Impose penalty of $100 per employee with a maximum penalty of $4,000*.

Months 25 - 36

Continue to contact employer and warn of upcoming penalty.

» Penalty Imposed

Impose penalty of $200 per employee with maximum penalty of $6,000*.

Months 37 — 48

Continue to contact employer and ward of upcoming penalty.

> Penalty Imposed

Impose penalty of $300 per employee with no maximum penalty.

Each ongoing year

Continue to contact employer and ward employer of upcoming penalty.

» Penalty Imposed

Impose penalty of $500 per employee with no maximum penalty.

*Penalty will not be imposed if employer complies within 30-days of receipt of penalty letter.




Proposed Penalties for Contributions Withheld but not Remitted

Serious Problems
Caused

Employees will Employees will not Confidence in the
lose Investment be able to Access Program will
Returns their Funds Suffer




Proposed Penalties for Contributions Withheld but not Remitted

e Usually within a few days of when employee
receives their paycheck

e Employers will have 30-days after an employee
is paid to remit deductions to the Recordkeeper

e The MN Secure Choice staff will contact
employers immediately if they don’t remit
contributions within 30 days

e Employers will have 10 additional days to remit
contributions
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Proposed Penalties for Contributions Withheld but not Remitted

Penalties

If remitted within 10 days of being contacted, employer will make
up contributions, plus 7% annual interest

If an employer willfully or intentionally refuses to remit
contributions after 10 days of being contacted, it could be
considered wage theft and could be considered a misdemeanor

By law, the Attorney General would have the right to enforce these
penalties

If Employers fail to remit contributions with a 30-day period for a
second time, a financial penalty of $250 per employee will be
assessed
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State Program Comparison Appendix 1

Total Assets as of Feb Total Funded
2025 Accounts FEB 202

California $1.8B

Colorado $106M

Connecticut S39M

Delaware $1.9M

Illinois S$236M

Maine $10.6M

Maryland $15.5M

Oregon S346M

Virginia $11.3M
Massachusetts Program just starting
New lJersey Program just starting

Washington Program just starting




MY MINNESOTA Appendix 2a

Compliance Policies in Other States

State Penalty
Hawaii * Missed contributions plus 6% interest to be paid to employee
* |n addition, a fee of $35 to $50/employee for each month
California * S$250/Employee per year
* S500/Employee per year for sustained non-compliance
lllinois * S$250/Employee per year
* S500/Employee per year for sustained non-compliance
Rhode Island * S$250/Employee per year
Delaware e S$250/Employee per year with an employer maximum of $5,000 per year
Virginia * Annual penalty not to exceed $200 per eligible employee
New Jersey * S$100/Employee in second calendar year

« S$250/Employee for 3™ and 4t year
* S500/Employee for 5t year

Washington e $100 for first violation
» 5250 for second violation
* S$500 for subsequent violations
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Compliance Policies in Other States

Appendix 2b

State Penalty

Minnesota * Impose penalty of S100/Employee with a maximum penalty of $4,000 in second year.
* |Impose penalty of $200/Employee with a maximum penalty of $6,000 in third year.
e Penalties increase with continued non-compliance.

Colorado e S$100/Employee per year with maximum employer penalty of $5,000

Oregon e S$100/Employee per year with maximum employer penalty of $5,000

Maine * S$20/Employee in first year
* S50/Employee in second year
* S100/Employee in third year

Vermont * S10/Employee in first year
* S20/Employee in second year
« S75/Employee each subsequent year

Maryland * No penalties

Connecticut
Nevada

New York

Employer receives $300 per year via a waiver of business filing fee
Employers may be subject to an investigation and related penalties (not specified)
Penalties will be determined by the Board

No penalties currently. Board will facilitate compliance with Internal Revenue Code.

Summary information taken from the Georgetown University Center for Retirement Initiatives. Some states may have additional qualifying penalty terms.



Default Contribution Rates, Default Escalation Rates, Maximum and

Minimum Contributions P

Default Rates and Auto Escalation Rates in Various States with Similar Programs

_ Contribution Default Annual Escalation Default Cap
SECURE CHOICE

RETIREMENT PROGRAM

Minnesota (proposed)
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M farsser Information needed from another stage agency Appendi 4

RETIREMENT FROGRAM

FEIN

Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) is the unique identification number that is used to identify each
employer. The FEIN is used to confirm identity for employer registration or exemption, and for ongoing
identification of each employer record.

FEIN is also used by the State or its partners to identify employers who have a qualified retirement plan through
matching FEIN to 5500 filing data. This allows the program to exempt employers on their behalf in advance of
sending out registration notices.

Employer Business Name

Required for identification and all communications to employers and employees.

Physical Address

Required to confirm address in state
Ideally divided into separate fields for street address, city, state, and zip

Mailing Address

For all Registration communications
Ideally divided into separate fields for street address, city, state, and zip

Employer Contact Name

For all registration communications and registration or exemption processes

Employer Contact Email Address

For the program to be successful in contacting employers and driving them to action, an email address is required

Number of Employees

The number of employees determines the employers wave registration deadline and whether they are required
by law to register or exempt

Employer Industry (NAICS code)

For program reporting and know your customer processes

Employer Status (if applicable)

To identify employers who have closed or no longer operating under their FEIN (i.e., change of ownership

Employer Contact Phone Number

To facilitate out calls to employers, if necessary
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