Page 1, after line 6, insert: 1 2 "ARTICLE 1 1.3 INTEREST, SALARY INCREASE, AND PAYROLL GROWTH 1.4 **ACTUARIAL ASSUMPTION CHANGES"** 1.5 Page 6, after line 23, insert 1.6 "ARTICLE 2 1.7 CONFORMING CHANGES IN LEAVE AND PRIOR SERVICE CREDIT 1.8 PURCHASE PROVISIONS RELATED TO INTEREST ASSUMPTION CHANGE 1.9 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 352.017, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 1.10 Subd. 2. **Purchase procedure.** (a) An employee covered by a plan specified in 1.11 this chapter may purchase credit for allowable service in that plan for a period specified 1.12 in subdivision 1 if the employee makes a payment as specified in paragraph (b) or (c), 1.13 whichever applies. The employing unit, at its option, may pay the employer portion of the 1.14 amount specified in paragraph (b) on behalf of its employees. 1 15 (b) If payment is received by the executive director within one year from the date the 1.16 employee returned to work following the authorized leave, the payment amount is equal to 1.17 the employee and employer contribution rates specified in law for the applicable plan at 1.18 the end of the leave period multiplied by the employee's hourly rate of salary on the date 1.19 of return from the leave of absence and by the days and months of the leave of absence for 1.20 1.21 which the employee is eligible for allowable service credit. The payment must include compound interest at a the applicable monthly rate of 0.71 percent from the last day of the 1.22

leave period until the last day of the month in which payment is received. The applicable

rate is 0.71 percent before July 1, 2015, and is 0.667 percent for the period after June 30,

2015. If payment is received by the executive director after one year, the payment amount

...... moves to amend H.F. No. 660; S.F. No. 613, as follows:

1.1

1.23

1 24

1.25

is the amount determined under section 356.551. Payment under this paragraph must be made before the date of termination from public employment covered under this chapter.

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

2.22

2.23

2.24

2.25

2.26

2.27

2.28

2.29

2.30

2.31

2.32

2.33

2.34

(c) If the employee terminates employment covered by this chapter during the leave or following the leave rather than returning to covered employment, payment must be received by the executive director within 30 days after the termination date. The payment amount is equal to the employee and employer contribution rates specified in law for the applicable plan on the day prior to the termination date, multiplied by the employee's hourly rate of salary on that date and by the days and months of the leave of absence prior to termination.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 352.27, is amended to read:

352.27 CREDIT FOR BREAK IN SERVICE TO PROVIDE UNIFORMED SERVICE.

- (a) An employee who is absent from employment by reason of service in the uniformed services, as defined in United States Code, title 38, section 4303(13), and who returns to state service upon discharge from service in the uniformed service within the time frames required in United States Code, title 38, section 4312(e), may obtain service credit for the period of the uniformed service as further specified in this section, provided that the employee did not separate from uniformed service with a dishonorable or bad conduct discharge or under other than honorable conditions.
- (b) The employee may obtain credit by paying into the fund an equivalent employee contribution based upon the contribution rate or rates in effect at the time that the uniformed service was performed multiplied by the full and fractional years being purchased and applied to the annual salary rate. The annual salary rate is the average annual salary during the purchase period that the employee would have received if the employee had continued to be employed in covered employment rather than to provide uniformed service, or, if the determination of that rate is not reasonably certain, the annual salary rate is the employee's average salary rate during the 12-month period of covered employment rendered immediately preceding the period of the uniformed service.
- (c) The equivalent employer contribution and, if applicable, the equivalent additional employer contribution provided in this chapter must be paid by the department employing the employee from funds available to the department at the time and in the manner provided in this chapter, using the employer and additional employer contribution rate or rates in effect at the time that the uniformed service was performed, applied to the same annual salary rate or rates used to compute the equivalent employee contribution.

Article 2 Sec. 2. Amendment H0660-6A

3.1

3.2

3.3

3.4

3.5

3.6

3.7

38

3.9

3.10

3.11

3.12

3.13

3.14

3.15

3.16

3.17

3.18

3.19

3.20

3.21

3.22

3.23

3.24

3.25

3.26

3.27

3.28

3.29

3.30

3.31

3.32

3.33

3.34

(d) If the employee equivalent contributions provided in this section are not paid in full, the employee's allowable service credit must be prorated by multiplying the full and fractional number of years of uniformed service eligible for purchase by the ratio obtained by dividing the total employee contribution received by the total employee contribution otherwise required under this section.

- (e) To receive service credit under this section, the contributions specified in this section must be transmitted to the Minnesota State Retirement System during the period which begins with the date on which the individual returns to state service and which has a duration of three times the length of the uniformed service period, but not to exceed five years. If the determined payment period is less than one year, the contributions required under this section to receive service credit may be made within one year of the discharge date.
- (f) The amount of service credit obtainable under this section may not exceed five years unless a longer purchase period is required under United States Code, title 38, section 4312.
- (g) The employing unit shall pay interest on all equivalent employee and employer contribution amounts payable under this section. Interest must be computed at a <u>the applicable</u> rate of 8.5 percent compounded annually from the end of each fiscal year of the leave or the break in service to the end of the month in which the payment is received. The applicable rate is 8.5 percent for the period before July 1, 2015, and 8 percent for the period after June 30, 2015.
 - Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 352.955, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Payment of additional equivalent contributions.** (a) An eligible employee who is transferred to plan coverage and who elects to transfer past service credit under this section must pay an additional member contribution for that prior service period. The additional member contribution is the amount computed under paragraph (b), plus the greater of the amount computed under paragraph (c), or 40 percent of the unfunded actuarial accrued liability attributable to the past service credit transfer.
- (b) The executive director shall compute, for the most recent 12 months of service credit eligible for transfer, or for the entire period eligible for transfer if less than 12 months, the difference between the employee contribution rate or rates for the general state employees retirement plan and the employee contribution rate or rates for the correctional state employees retirement plan applied to the eligible employee's salary during that transfer period, plus compound interest at a the applicable monthly rate of 0.71

percent. The applicable rate is 0.71 percent before July 1, 2015, and is 0.667 percent for the period after June 30, 2015.

4.1

4.2

4.3

4.4

4.5

4.6

4.7

4.8

4.9

4.10

4.11

4.12

4.13

4.14

4.15

4.16

4.17

4.18

4.19

4.20

4.21

4.22

4.23

4.24

4.25

4.26

4.27

4.28

4.29

4.30

4.31

4.32

4.33

4.34

4.35

- (c) The executive director shall compute, for any service credit being transferred on behalf of the eligible employee and not included under paragraph (b), the difference between the employee contribution rate or rates for the general state employees retirement plan and the employee contribution rate or rates for the correctional state employees retirement plan applied to the eligible employee's salary during that transfer period, plus compound interest at a <u>the applicable monthly rate of 0.71 percent</u>. The applicable rate is 0.71 percent before July 1, 2015, and is 0.667 percent for the period after June 30, 2015.
- (d) The executive director shall compute an amount using the process specified in paragraph (b), but based on differences in employer contribution rates between the general state employees retirement plan and the correctional state employees retirement plan rather than employee contribution rates.
- (e) The executive director shall compute an amount using the process specified in paragraph (c), but based on differences in employer contribution rates between the general state employees retirement plan and the correctional state employees retirement plan rather than employee contribution rates.
- (f) The additional equivalent member contribution under this subdivision must be paid in a lump sum. Payment must accompany the election to transfer the prior service credit. No transfer election or additional equivalent member contribution payment may be made by a person or accepted by the executive director after the one year anniversary date of the effective date of the retirement coverage transfer, or the date on which the eligible employee terminates state employment, whichever is earlier.
- (g) If an eligible employee elects to transfer past service credit under this section and pays the additional equivalent member contribution amount under paragraph (a), the applicable department shall pay an additional equivalent employer contribution amount. The additional employer contribution is the amount computed under paragraph (d), plus the greater of the amount computed under paragraph (e), or 60 percent of the unfunded actuarial accrued liability attributable to the past service credit transfer.
- (h) The unfunded actuarial accrued liability attributable to the past service credit transfer is the present value of the benefit obtained by the transfer of the service credit to the correctional state employees retirement plan reduced by the amount of the asset transfer under subdivision 4, by the amount of the member contribution equivalent payment computed under paragraph (b), and by the amount of the employer contribution equivalent payment computed under paragraph (d).

Article 2 Sec. 3.

(i) The additional equivalent employer contribution under this subdivision must be paid in a lump sum and must be paid within 30 days of the date on which the executive director of the Minnesota State Retirement System certifies to the applicable department that the employee paid the additional equivalent member contribution.

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5.5

5.6

5.7

5.8

5.9

5.10

5.11

5.12

5.13

5.14

5.15

5.16

5.17

5.18

5.19

5.20

5.21

5.22

5.23

5 24

5.25

5.26

5.27

5.28

5.29

5.30

5.31

5.32

5.33

5.34

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 352B.013, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Purchase procedure.** (a) An employee covered by the plan specified in this chapter may purchase credit for allowable service in the plan for a period specified in subdivision 1 if the employee makes a payment as specified in paragraph (b) or (c), whichever applies. The employing unit, at its option, may pay the employer portion of the amount specified in paragraph (b) on behalf of its employees.

- (b) If payment is received by the executive director within one year from the date the employee returned to work following the authorized leave, the payment amount is equal to the employee and employer contribution rates specified in section 352B.02 at the end of the leave period multiplied by the employee's hourly rate of salary on the date of return from the leave of absence and by the days and months of the leave of absence for which the employee is eligible for allowable service credit. The payment must include compound interest at a the applicable monthly rate of 0.71 percent from the last day of the leave period until the last day of the month in which payment is received. The applicable rate is 0.71 percent before July 1, 2015, and is 0.667 percent for the period after June 30, 2015. If payment is received by the executive director after one year from the date the employee returned to work following the authorized leave, the payment amount is the amount determined under section 356.551. Payment under this paragraph must be made before the date of termination from public employment covered under this chapter.
- (c) If the employee terminates employment covered by this chapter during the leave or following the leave rather than returning to covered employment, payment must be received by the executive director within 30 days after the termination date. The payment amount is equal to the employee and employer contribution rates specified in section 352B.02 on the day prior to the termination date, multiplied by the employee's hourly rate of salary on that date and by the days and months of the leave of absence prior to termination.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 352B.085, is amended to read:

352B.085 SERVICE CREDIT FOR CERTAIN DISABILITY LEAVES OF ABSENCE.

A member on leave of absence receiving temporary workers' compensation payments and a reduced salary or no salary from the employer who is entitled to allowable service

Article 2 Sec. 5. Amendment H0660-6A

credit for the period of absence under section 352B.011, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), may make payment to the fund for the difference between salary received, if any, and the salary that the member would normally receive if the member was not on leave of absence during the period. The member shall pay an amount equal to the member and employer contribution rate under section 352B.02, subdivisions 1b and 1c, on the differential salary amount for the period of the leave of absence. The employing department, at its option, may pay the employer amount on behalf of the member. Payment made under this subdivision must include interest at the applicable rate of 8.5 percent per year, and must be completed within one year of the member's return from the leave of absence. The applicable rate is 8.5 percent for the period before July 1, 2015, and 8 percent for the period after June 30, 2015.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 352B.086, is amended to read:

352B.086 SERVICE CREDIT FOR UNIFORMED SERVICE.

- (a) A member who is absent from employment by reason of service in the uniformed services, as defined in United States Code, title 38, section 4303(13), and who returns to state employment in a position covered by the plan upon discharge from service in the uniformed services within the time frame required in United States Code, title 38, section 4312(e), may obtain service credit for the period of the uniformed service, provided that the member did not separate from uniformed service with a dishonorable or bad conduct discharge or under other than honorable conditions.
- (b) The member may obtain credit by paying into the fund an equivalent member contribution based on the member contribution rate or rates in effect at the time that the uniformed service was performed multiplied by the full and fractional years being purchased and applied to the annual salary rate. The annual salary rate is the average annual salary during the purchase period that the member would have received if the member had continued to provide employment services to the state rather than to provide uniformed service, or if the determination of that rate is not reasonably certain, the annual salary rate is the member's average salary rate during the 12-month period of covered employment rendered immediately preceding the purchase period.
- (c) The equivalent employer contribution and, if applicable, the equivalent employer additional contribution, must be paid by the employing unit, using the employer and employer additional contribution rate or rates in effect at the time that the uniformed service was performed, applied to the same annual salary rate or rates used to compute the equivalent member contribution.
- (d) If the member equivalent contributions provided for in this section are not paid in full, the member's allowable service credit must be prorated by multiplying the full and

6.1

6.2

6.3

6.4

6.5

6.6

6.7

68

6.9

6.10

6.11

6.12

6.13

6.14

6.15

6.16

6.17

6.18

6.19

6.20

6.21

6.22

6.23

6.24

6.25

6.26

6.27

6.28

6.29

6.30

6.31

6.32

6.33

6.34

6.35

fractional number of years of uniformed service eligible for purchase by the ratio obtained by dividing the total member contributions received by the total member contributions otherwise required under this section.

7.1

7.2

7.3

7.4

7.5

7.6

7.7

7.8

7.9

7.10

7.11

7.12

7.13

7.14

7.15

7.16

7.17

7.18

7.19

7.20

7.21

7.22

7.23

7.24

7.25

7.26

7.27

7.28

7.29

7.30

- (e) To receive allowable service credit under this section, the contributions specified in this section must be transmitted to the fund during the period which begins with the date on which the individual returns to state employment covered by the plan and which has a duration of three times the length of the uniformed service period, but not to exceed five years. If the determined payment period is calculated to be less than one year, the contributions required under this section to receive service credit must be transmitted to the fund within one year from the discharge date.
- (f) The amount of allowable service credit obtainable under this section may not exceed five years, unless a longer purchase period is required under United States Code, title 38, section 4312.
- (g) The employing unit shall pay interest on all equivalent member and employer contribution amounts payable under this section. Interest must be computed at a <u>the applicable</u> rate of 8.5 percent compounded annually from the end of each fiscal year of the leave or break in service to the end of the month in which payment is received. The applicable rate is 8.5 percent for the period before July 1, 2015, and 8 percent for the period after June 30, 2015.
- Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 352D.11, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 2. **Payments by employee.** An employee entitled to purchase service credit may make the purchase by paying to the state retirement system an amount equal to the current employee contribution rate in effect for the state retirement system applied to the current or final salary rate multiplied by the months and days of prior temporary, intermittent, or contract legislative service. Payment shall be made in one lump sum unless the executive director of the state retirement system agrees to accept payment in installments over a period of not more than three years from the date of the agreement. Installment payments shall be charged interest at an annual the applicable rate of 8.5 percent compounded annually. The applicable rate is 8.5 percent for the period before July 1, 2015, and 8 percent for the period after June 30, 2015.
- Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 353.01, subdivision 16, is amended to read:

 Subd. 16. **Allowable service; limits and computation.** (a) "Allowable service"

 means:

Article 2 Sec. 8. 7 Amendment H0660-6A

(1) service during years of actual membership in the course of which employee deductions were withheld from salary and contributions were made at the applicable rates under section 353.27, 353.65, or 353E.03;

(2) periods of service covered by payments in lieu of salary deductions under sections 353.27, subdivision 12, and 353.35;

8.1

8.2

8.3

8.4

8.5

8.6

8.7

8.8

8.9

8.10

8.11

8.12

8.13

8.14

8.15

8.16

8.17

8.18

8.19

8.20

8.21

8.22

8.23

8.24

8.25

8.26

8.27

8.28

8.29

8.30

8.31

8.32

8.33

8.34

8.35

- (3) service in years during which the public employee was not a member but for which the member later elected, while a member, to obtain credit by making payments to the fund as permitted by any law then in effect;
- (4) a period of authorized leave of absence with pay from which deductions for employee contributions are made, deposited, and credited to the fund;
- (5) a period of authorized personal, parental, or medical leave of absence without pay, including a leave of absence covered under the federal Family Medical Leave Act, that does not exceed one year, and for which a member obtained service credit for each month in the leave period by payment under section 353.0161 to the fund made in place of salary deductions. An employee must return to public service and render a minimum of three months of allowable service in order to be eligible to make payment under section 353.0161 for a subsequent authorized leave of absence without pay. Upon payment, the employee must be granted allowable service credit for the purchased period;
- (6) a periodic, repetitive leave that is offered to all employees of a governmental subdivision. The leave program may not exceed 208 hours per annual normal work cycle as certified to the association by the employer. A participating member obtains service credit by making employee contributions in an amount or amounts based on the member's average salary, excluding overtime pay, that would have been paid if the leave had not been taken. The employer shall pay the employer and additional employer contributions on behalf of the participating member. The employee and the employer are responsible to pay interest on their respective shares at the applicable rate of 8.5 percent a year, compounded annually, from the end of the normal cycle until full payment is made. The applicable rate is 8.5 percent for the period before July 1, 2015, and 8 percent for the period after June 30, 2015. An employer shall also make the employer and additional employer contributions, plus 8.5 percent the applicable interest rate, compounded annually, on behalf of an employee who makes employee contributions but terminates public service. The applicable rate is 8.5 percent for the period before July 1, 2015, and 8 percent for the period after June 30, 2015. The employee contributions must be made within one year after the end of the annual normal working cycle or within 30 days after termination of public service, whichever is sooner. The executive director shall prescribe the manner and forms to be

used by a governmental subdivision in administering a periodic, repetitive leave. Upon payment, the member must be granted allowable service credit for the purchased period;

9.1

9.2

9.3

9.4

9.5

9.6

9.7

9.8

9.9

9.10

9.11

9.12

9.13

9.14

9.15

9.16

9.17

9.18

9.19

9.20

9.21

9.22

9.23

9.24

9.25

9.26

9.27

9.28

9.29

9.30

9.31

9.32

9.33

9.34

9.35

9.36

(7) an authorized temporary or seasonal layoff under subdivision 12, limited to three months allowable service per authorized temporary or seasonal layoff in one calendar year. An employee who has received the maximum service credit allowed for an authorized temporary or seasonal layoff must return to public service and must obtain a minimum of three months of allowable service subsequent to the layoff in order to receive allowable service for a subsequent authorized temporary or seasonal layoff;

(8) a period during which a member is absent from employment by a governmental subdivision by reason of service in the uniformed services, as defined in United States Code, title 38, section 4303(13), if the member returns to public service with the same governmental subdivision upon discharge from service in the uniformed service within the time frames required under United States Code, title 38, section 4312(e), provided that the member did not separate from uniformed service with a dishonorable or bad conduct discharge or under other than honorable conditions. The service must be credited if the member pays into the fund equivalent employee contributions based upon the contribution rate or rates in effect at the time that the uniformed service was performed multiplied by the full and fractional years being purchased and applied to the annual salary rate. The annual salary rate is the average annual salary during the purchase period that the member would have received if the member had continued to be employed in covered employment rather than to provide uniformed service, or, if the determination of that rate is not reasonably certain, the annual salary rate is the member's average salary rate during the 12-month period of covered employment rendered immediately preceding the period of the uniformed service. Payment of the member equivalent contributions must be made during a period that begins with the date on which the individual returns to public employment and that is three times the length of the military leave period, or within five years of the date of discharge from the military service, whichever is less. If the determined payment period is less than one year, the contributions required under this clause to receive service credit may be made within one year of the discharge date. Payment may not be accepted following 30 days after termination of public service under subdivision 11a. If the member equivalent contributions provided for in this clause are not paid in full, the member's allowable service credit must be prorated by multiplying the full and fractional number of years of uniformed service eligible for purchase by the ratio obtained by dividing the total member contributions received by the total member contributions otherwise required under this clause. The equivalent employer contribution, and, if applicable, the equivalent additional employer contribution must be paid by the governmental subdivision

employing the member if the member makes the equivalent employee contributions. The employer payments must be made from funds available to the employing unit, using the employer and additional employer contribution rate or rates in effect at the time that the uniformed service was performed, applied to the same annual salary rate or rates used to compute the equivalent member contribution. The governmental subdivision involved may appropriate money for those payments. The amount of service credit obtainable under this section may not exceed five years unless a longer purchase period is required under United States Code, title 38, section 4312. The employing unit shall pay interest on all equivalent member and employer contribution amounts payable under this clause. Interest must be computed at a the applicable rate of 8.5 percent compounded annually from the end of each fiscal year of the leave or the break in service to the end of the month in which the payment is received. The applicable rate is 8.5 percent for the period before July 1, 2015, and 8 percent for the period after June 30, 2015. Upon payment, the employee must be granted allowable service credit for the purchased period; or

(9) a period specified under section 353.0162.

10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

10.7

10.8

10.9

10.10

10.11

10.12

10.13

10.14

10.15

10.16

10.17

10.18

10.19

10.20

10.21

10.22

10.23

10.24

10.25

10.26

10.27

10.28

10.29

10.30

10.31

10.32

10.33

10.34

10.35

- (b) For calculating benefits under sections 353.30, 353.31, 353.32, and 353.33 for state officers and employees displaced by the Community Corrections Act, chapter 401, and transferred into county service under section 401.04, "allowable service" means the combined years of allowable service as defined in paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (6), and section 352.01, subdivision 11.
- (c) No member may receive more than 12 months of allowable service credit in a year either for vesting purposes or for benefit calculation purposes. For an active member who was an active member of the former Minneapolis Firefighters Relief Association on December 29, 2011, "allowable service" is the period of service credited by the Minneapolis Firefighters Relief Association as reflected in the transferred records of the association up to December 30, 2011, and the period of service credited under paragraph (a), clause (1), after December 30, 2011. For an active member who was an active member of the former Minneapolis Police Relief Association on December 29, 2011, "allowable service" is the period of service credited by the Minneapolis Police Relief Association as reflected in the transferred records of the association up to December 30, 2011, and the period of service credited under paragraph (a), clause (1), after December 30, 2011.
 - (d) MS 2002 [Expired]

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 353.0161, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
Subd. 2. **Purchase procedure.** (a) An employee covered by a plan specified in subdivision 1 may purchase credit for allowable service in that plan for a period specified

Article 2 Sec. 9.

in subdivision 1 if the employee makes a payment as specified in paragraph (b) or (c), whichever applies. The employing unit, at its option, may pay the employer portion of the amount specified in paragraph (b) on behalf of its employees.

11.1

11.2

11.3

11.4

11.5

116

11.7

11.8

11.9

11.10

11.11

11.12

11.13

11.14

11.15

11.16

11.17

11.18

11.19

11.20

11.21

11.22

11.23

11.24

11.25

11.26

11.27

11.28

11.29

11.30

11.31

11.32

11.33

11.34

11.35

- (b) If payment is received by the executive director within one year from the date the member returned to work following the authorized leave, or within 30 days after the date of termination of public service if the member did not return to work, the payment amount is equal to the employee and employer contribution rates specified in law for the applicable plan at the end of the leave period, or at termination of public service, whichever is earlier, multiplied by the employee's average monthly salary, excluding overtime, upon which deductions were paid during the six months, or portion thereof, before the commencement of the leave of absence and by the number of months of the leave of absence for which the employee wants allowable service credit. Payments made under this paragraph must include compound interest at a the applicable monthly rate of 0.71 percent from the last day of the leave period until the last day of the month in which payment is received. The applicable rate is 0.71 percent before July 1, 2015, and is 0.667 percent for the period after June 30, 2015.
- (c) If payment is received by the executive director after one year, the payment amount is the amount determined under section 356.551. Payment under this paragraph must be made before the date the person terminates public service under section 353.01, subdivision 11a.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 353.0162, is amended to read:

353.0162 REDUCED SALARY PERIODS SALARY CREDIT PURCHASE.

- (a) A member may purchase additional salary credit for a period specified in this section.
- (b) The applicable period is a period during which the member is receiving a reduced salary from the employer while the member is:
- (1) receiving temporary workers' compensation payments related to the member's service to the public employer;
 - (2) on an authorized medical leave of absence; or
- (3) on an authorized partial paid leave of absence as a result of a budgetary or salary savings program offered or mandated by a governmental subdivision.
- (c) The differential salary amount is the difference between the average monthly salary received by the member during the period of reduced salary under this section and the average monthly salary of the member, excluding overtime, on which contributions to the applicable plan were made during the period of the last six months of covered

Article 2 Sec. 10. 11 Amendment H0660-6A

employment occurring immediately before the period of reduced salary, applied to the member's normal employment period, measured in hours or otherwise, as applicable.

12.1

12.2

12.3

12.4

12.5

126

12.7

12.8

12.9

12.10

12.11

12.12

12.13

12.14

12.15

12.16

12.17

12.18

12.19

12.20

12.21

12.22

12.23

12.24

12.25

12.26

12.27

12.28

12.29

12.30

12.31

12.32

12.33

12.34

12.35

- (d) To receive eligible salary credit, the member shall pay an amount equal to:
- (1) the applicable employee contribution rate under section 353.27, subdivision 2; 353.65, subdivision 2; or 353E.03, subdivision 1, as applicable, multiplied by the differential salary amount;
- (2) plus an employer equivalent payment equal to the applicable employer contribution rate in section 353.27, subdivision 3; 353.65, subdivision 3; or 353E.03, subdivision 2, as applicable, multiplied by the differential salary amount;
- (3) plus, if applicable, an equivalent employer additional amount equal to the additional employer contribution rate in section 353.27, subdivision 3a, multiplied by the differential salary amount.
- (e) The employer, by appropriate action of its governing body and documented in its official records, may pay the employer equivalent contributions and, as applicable, the equivalent employer additional contributions on behalf of the member.
- (f) Payment under this section must include interest on the contribution amount or amounts, whichever applies, at an 8.5 percent the applicable annual rate, prorated for applicable months from the date on which the period of reduced salary specified under this section terminates to the date on which the payment or payments are received by the executive director. The applicable rate is 8.5 percent for the period before July 1, 2015, and 8 percent for the period after June 30, 2015. Payment under this section must be completed within the earlier of 30 days from termination of public service by the employee under section 353.01, subdivision 11a, or one year after the termination of the period specified in paragraph (b), as further restricted under this section.
- (g) The period for which additional allowable salary credit may be purchased is limited to the period during which the person receives temporary workers' compensation payments or for those business years in which the governmental subdivision offers or mandates a budget or salary savings program, as certified to the executive director by a resolution of the governing body of the governmental subdivision. For an authorized medical leave of absence, the period for which allowable salary credit may be purchased may not exceed 12 consecutive months of authorized medical leave.
- (h) To purchase salary credit for a subsequent period of temporary workers' compensation benefits or subsequent authorized medical leave of absence, the member must return to public service and render a minimum of three months of allowable service.
 - Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 354.72, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Article 2 Sec. 11. 12 Amendment H0660-6A

Subd. 2. **Purchase procedure.** (a) A teacher may purchase credit for allowable and formula service in the plan for a period specified in subdivision 1 if the teacher makes a payment as specified in paragraph (b), (c), or (d), whichever applies. The employing unit, at its option, may pay the employer portion of the amount on behalf of its employees.

- (b) If payment is received by the executive director by June 30 of the fiscal year of the strike period or authorized leave included under section 354.093, 354.095, or 354.096, payment must equal the total employee and employer contribution rates, including amortization contribution rates if applicable, multiplied by the member's average monthly salary rate on the date the leave or strike period commenced, or for an extended leave under section 354.094, on the salary received during the year immediately preceding the initial year of the leave, multiplied by the months and portions of a month of the leave or strike period for which the teacher seeks allowable service credit.
- (c) If payment is made after June 30 and before the following June 30 for a strike period or for leaves of absence under section 354.093, 354.095, or 354.096, or for an extended leave of absence under section 354.094, the payment must include the amount determined in paragraph (b) plus compound interest at a the applicable monthly rate of 0.71 percent from June 30 until the last day of the month in which payment is received. The applicable rate is 0.71 percent before July 1, 2015, and is 0.667 percent for the period after June 30, 2015.
- (d) If payment is received by the executive director after the applicable last permitted date under paragraph (c), the payment amount is the amount determined under section 356.551. Notwithstanding payment deadlines specified in section 356.551, payment under this section may be made anytime before the effective date of retirement.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 354A.096, is amended to read:

354A.096 MEDICAL LEAVE.

13.1

13.2

13.3

13.4

13.5

136

13.7

13.8

13.9

13.10

13.11

13.12

13.13

13.14

13.15

13.16

13.17

13.18

13.19

13.20

13.21

13.22

13.23

13.24

13.25

13.26

13.27

13.28

13.29

13.30

13.31

13.32

13.33

13.34

13.35

Any teacher in the coordinated program of the St. Paul Teachers Retirement Fund Association who is on an authorized medical leave of absence and subsequently returns to teaching service is entitled to receive allowable service credit, not to exceed one year, for the period of leave, upon making the prescribed payment to the fund. This payment must include the required employee and employer contributions at the rates specified in section 354A.12, subdivisions 1 and 2a, as applied to the member's average full-time monthly salary rate on the date the leave of absence commenced plus annual interest at the applicable rate of 8.5 percent per year from the end of the fiscal year during which the leave terminates to the end of the month during which payment is made. The applicable rate is 8.5 percent for the period before July 1, 2015, and 8 percent for the period after

Article 2 Sec. 12. Amendment H0660-6A

14.1

14.2

14.3

14.4

14.5

146

14.7

14.8

14.9

14.10

14.11

14.12

14.13

14.14

14.15

14.16

14.17

14.18

14.19

14.20

14.21

14.22

14.23

14.24

14.25

14.26

14.27

14.28

14.29

14.30

14.31

14.32

14.33

14.34

14.35

June 30, 2015. The member must pay the total amount required unless the employing unit, at its option, pays the employer contributions. The total amount required must be paid by the end of the fiscal year following the fiscal year in which the leave of absence terminated or before the member retires, whichever is earlier. Payment must be accompanied by a copy of the resolution or action of the employing authority granting the leave and the employing authority, upon granting the leave, must certify the leave to the association in a manner specified by the executive director. A member may not receive more than one year of allowable service credit during any fiscal year by making payment under this section. A member may not receive disability benefits under section 354A.36 and receive allowable service credit under this section for the same period of time.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 354A.108, is amended to read:

354A.108 PAYMENT BY TEACHERS COLLECTING WORKERS' COMPENSATION.

- (a) A member of the Duluth Teachers Retirement Fund Association who is receiving temporary workers' compensation payments related to the member's teaching service and who either is receiving a reduced salary from the employer or is receiving no salary from the employer is entitled to receive allowable service credit for the period of time that the member is receiving the workers' compensation payments upon making the required payment amount.
- (b) The required amount payable by the member must be calculated first by determining the differential salary amount, which is the difference between the salary received, if any, during the period of time that the member is collecting workers' compensation payments, and the salary that the member received for an identical length period immediately before collecting the workers' compensation payments. The member shall pay an amount equal to the employee contribution rate under section 354A.12, subdivision 1, multiplied by the differential salary amount.
- (c) If the member makes the employee payment under this section, the employing unit shall make an employer payment to the Duluth Teachers Retirement Fund Association equal to the employer contribution rate under section 354A.12, subdivision 2a, multiplied by the differential salary amount.
- (d) Payments made under this subdivision are payable without interest if paid by June 30 of the year during which the workers' compensation payments are received by the member. If paid after June 30, payments made under this subdivision must include interest at the <u>applicable</u> rate of 8.5 percent per year. The applicable rate is 8.5 percent for the period before July 1, 2015, and 8 percent for the period after June 30, 2015. Payment

Article 2 Sec. 13. Amendment H0660-6A

under this section must be completed within one year of the termination of the workers' compensation payments to the member.

15.1

15.2

15.3

15.4

15.5

15.6

15.7

15.8

15.9

15.10

15.11

15.12

15.13

15.14

15.15

15.16

15.17

15.18

15.19

15.20

15.21

15.22

15.23

15.24

15.25

15.26

15.27

15.28

15.29

15.30

15.31

15.32

15.33

15.34

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 356.195, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2. **Purchase procedure for strike periods.** (a) An employee covered by a plan specified in subdivision 1 may purchase allowable service credit in the applicable plan for any period of time during which the employee was on a public employee strike without pay, not to exceed a period of one year, if the employee makes a payment in lieu of salary deductions as specified in paragraph (b) or (c), whichever applies. The employing unit, at its option, may pay the employer portion of the amount specified in paragraph (b) on behalf of its employees.
- (b) If payment is received by the applicable pension plan executive director within one year from the end of the strike, the payment amount is equal to the applicable employee and employer contribution rates specified in law for the applicable plan during the strike period, applied to the employee's rate of salary in effect at the conclusion of the strike for the period of the strike without pay, plus compound interest at a the applicable monthly rate of 0.71 percent from the last day of the strike period until the date payment is received. The applicable rate is 0.71 percent before July 1, 2015, and is 0.667 percent for the period after June 30, 2015.
- (c) If payment is received by the applicable pension fund director after one year and before five years from the end of the strike, the payment amount is the amount determined under section 356.551.
 - (d) Payments may not be made more than five years after the end of the strike.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 356.50, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Service credit procedure.** (a) To obtain the public pension plan allowable service credit, the eligible person under subdivision 1 shall pay the required member contribution amount. The required member contribution amount is the member contribution rate or rates in effect for the pension plan during the period of service covered by the back pay award, applied to the unpaid gross salary amounts of the back pay award including unemployment insurance, workers' compensation, or wages from other sources which reduced the back award. No contributions may be made under this clause for compensation covered by a public pension plan listed in section 356.30, subdivision 3, for employment during the removal period. The person shall pay the required member contribution amount within 60 days of the date of receipt of the back pay award or within 60 days of a billing from the retirement fund, whichever is later.

Article 2 Sec. 15. Amendment H0660-6A

16.1

16.2

16.3

16.4

16.5

16.6

16.7

16.8

16.9

16.10

16.11

16.12

16.13

16.14

16.15

16.16

16.17

16.18

16.19

16.20

16.21

16.22

16.23

16.24

16.25

16.26

16.27

16.28

16.29

16.30

16.31

16.32

16.33

16.34

16.35

(b) The public employer who wrongfully discharged the public employee must pay an employer contribution on the back pay award. The employer contribution must be based on the employer contribution rate or rates in effect for the pension plan during the period of service covered by the back pay award, applied to the salary amount on which the member contribution amount was determined under paragraph (a). Interest on both the required member and employer contribution amount must be paid by the employer at the applicable annual compound rate of 8.5 percent per year, expressed monthly, between the date the contribution amount would have been paid to the date of actual payment. The applicable rate is 8.5 percent for the period before July 1, 2015, and 8 percent for the period after June 30, 2015. The employer payment must be made within 30 days of the payment under paragraph (a).

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 356.551, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2. **Determination.** (a) Unless the minimum purchase amount set forth in paragraph (c) applies, the prior service credit purchase amount is an amount equal to the actuarial present value, on the date of payment, as calculated by the chief administrative officer of the pension plan and reviewed by the actuary retained under section 356.214, of the amount of the additional retirement annuity obtained by the acquisition of the additional service credit in this section.
- (b) Calculation of this amount must be made using the preretirement interest rate applicable to the public pension plan specified in section 356.215, subdivision 8, and the mortality table adopted for the public pension plan. The calculation must assume continuous future service in the public pension plan until, and retirement at, the age at which the minimum requirements of the fund for normal retirement or retirement with an annuity unreduced for retirement at an early age, including section 356.30, are met with the additional service credit purchased. The calculation must also assume a full-time equivalent salary, or actual salary, whichever is greater, and a future salary history that includes annual salary increases at the applicable salary increase rate for the plan specified in section 356.215, subdivision 4d.
- (c) The prior service credit purchase amount may not be less than the amount determined by applying, for each year or fraction of a year being purchased, the sum of the employee contribution rate, the employer contribution rate, and the additional employer contribution rate, if any, applicable during that period, to the person's annual salary during that period, or fractional portion of a year's salary, if applicable, plus interest at the <u>applicable</u> annual rate of 8.5 percent compounded annually from the end of the year in which contributions would otherwise have been made to the date on which the payment

Article 2 Sec. 16. 16

is received. The applicable rate is 8.5 percent for the period before July 1, 2015, and 8 percent for the period after June 30, 2015.

17.1

17.2

17.3

17.4

17.5

17.6

17.7

17.8

17.9

17.10

17.11

17.12

17.13

17.14

17.15

17.16

17.17

17.18

17.19

17.20

17.21

17.22

17.23

17.24

17.25

17.26

17.27

17.28

17.29

17.30

17.31

17.32

17.33

17.34

17.35

- (d) Unless otherwise provided by statutes governing a specific plan, payment must be made in one lump sum within one year of the prior service credit authorization or prior to the member's effective date of retirement, whichever is earlier. Payment of the amount calculated under this section must be made by the applicable eligible person.
- (e) However, the current employer or the prior employer may, at its discretion, pay all or any portion of the payment amount that exceeds an amount equal to the employee contribution rates in effect during the period or periods of prior service applied to the actual salary rates in effect during the period or periods of prior service, plus interest at the rate of 8.5 percent a year compounded annually from the date on which the contributions would otherwise have been made to the date on which the payment is made. If the employer agrees to payments under this subdivision, the purchaser must make the employee payments required under this subdivision within 90 days of the prior service credit authorization. If that employee payment is made, the employer payment under this subdivision must be remitted to the chief administrative officer of the public pension plan within 60 days of receipt by the chief administrative officer of the employee payments specified under this subdivision.
 - Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 490.121, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Allowable service.** (a) "Allowable service" means any calendar month, subject to the service credit limit in subdivision 22, served as a judge at any time, during which the judge received compensation for that service from the state, municipality, or county, whichever applies, and for which the judge made any required member contribution. It also includes any month served as a referee in probate for all referees in probate who were in office before January 1, 1974.
- (b) "Allowable service" also means a period of authorized leave of absence for which the judge has made a payment in lieu of contributions, not in an amount in excess of the service credit limit under subdivision 22. To obtain the service credit, the judge shall pay an amount equal to the normal cost of the judges retirement plan on the date of return from the leave of absence, as determined in the most recent actuarial report for the plan filed with the Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement, multiplied by the judge's average monthly salary rate during the authorized leave of absence and multiplied by the number of months of the authorized leave of absence, plus annual compound interest at the applicable rate of 8.5 percent from the date of the termination of the leave to the date on which payment is made. The applicable rate is 8.5 percent for the period before July 1, 2015, and 8 percent

Article 2 Sec. 17. Amendment H0660-6A

for the period after June 30, 2015. The payment must be made within one year of the date on which the authorized leave of absence terminated. Service credit for an authorized leave of absence is in addition to a uniformed service leave under section 490.1211.

(c) "Allowable service" does not mean service as a retired judge.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 490.1211, is amended to read:

490.1211 UNIFORMED SERVICE.

18.1

18.2

18.3

18.4

18.5

18.6

18.7

18.8

18.9

18.10

18.11

18.12

18.13

18.14

18.15

18.16

18.17

18.18

18.19

18.20

18.21

18.22

18.23

18.24

18.25

18.26

18.27

18.28

18.29

18.30

18.31

18.32

18.33

18.34

18.35

- (a) A judge who is absent from employment by reason of service in the uniformed services, as defined in United States Code, title 38, section 4303(13), and who returns to state employment as a judge upon discharge from service in the uniformed service within the time frame required in United States Code, title 38, section 4312(e), may obtain service credit for the period of the uniformed service, provided that the judge did not separate from uniformed service with a dishonorable or bad conduct discharge or under other than honorable conditions.
- (b) The judge may obtain credit by paying into the fund equivalent member contribution based on the contribution rate or rates in effect at the time that the uniformed service was performed multiplied by the full and fractional years being purchased and applied to the annual salary rate. The annual salary rate is the average annual salary during the purchase period that the judge would have received if the judge had continued to provide employment services to the state rather than to provide uniformed service, or if the determination of that rate is not reasonably certain, the annual salary rate is the judge's average salary rate during the 12-month period of judicial employment rendered immediately preceding the purchase period.
- (c) The equivalent employer contribution and, if applicable, the equivalent employer additional contribution, must be paid by the employing unit, using the employer and employer additional contribution rate or rates in effect at the time that the uniformed service was performed, applied to the same annual salary rate or rates used to compute the equivalent member contribution.
- (d) If the member equivalent contributions provided for in this section are not paid in full, the judge's allowable service credit must be prorated by multiplying the full and fractional number of years of uniformed service eligible for purchase by the ratio obtained by dividing the total member contributions received by the total member contributions otherwise required under this section.
- (e) To receive allowable service credit under this section, the contributions specified in this section and section 490.121 must be transmitted to the fund during the period which begins with the date on which the individual returns to judicial employment and

Article 2 Sec. 18.

02/20/15 09:56 AM	PENSIONS	LM/LD	H0660-6A

which has a duration of three times the length of the uniformed service period, but not to exceed five years. If the determined payment period is calculated to be less than one year, the contributions required under this section to receive service credit may be within one year from the discharge date.

- (f) The amount of allowable service credit obtainable under this section and section 490.121 may not exceed five years, unless a longer purchase period is required under United States Code, title 38, section 4312.
- (g) The state court administrator shall pay interest on all equivalent member and employer contribution amounts payable under this section. Interest must be computed at a <u>the applicable</u> rate of 8.5 percent compounded annually from the end of each fiscal year of the leave or break in service to the end of the month in which payment is received. The applicable rate is 8.5 percent for the period before July 1, 2015, and 8 percent for the period after June 30, 2015.

Sec. 19. **EFFECTIVE DATE.**

- Sections 1 to 18 are effective July 1, 2015."
- 19.16 Amend the title accordingly

19.1

19.2

19.3

19.4

19.5

19.6

19.7

19.8

19.9

19.10

19.11

19.12

19.13

19.14

19.15

Article 2 Sec. 19. Amendment H0660-6A